The old Drug Store was first opened in 1913, inside Hotel Limpia, as a gathering spot for citizens to get their newspapers, visit the doctor, pick up their medicines and grab a fountain drink. In July 1942, Mr. and Mrs. C.R. Fryar purchased the Drug Store from Dr. and Mrs. Eaton, and in 1950 they relocated the business across the street to the building it resides in today.
By the early 1980s, the Drug Store had seen a new set of owners and additions onto the building for a hotel space. No longer having a doctor in residency, the Drug Store changed into a full-service restaurant and hotel, keeping it's 22-foot old-fashioned soda fountain.
Today, the Fort Davis Drug Store is owned and operated by Bill and Nancy Davis who purchased the Fort Davis Drug Store and Hotel in 2011. They just recently remodeled and added the Sweet Shop where homemade fudge and flavored popcorn are manufactured on site. The gift shop has been expanded and a new food order window has proven very efficient. The Drugstore experience is giving locals and visitors that old-fashioned Texas experience, don't miss it when visiting the beautiful Davis Mountains of West Texas.